Skip to content
Carmarthenshire Counts — Carmarthenshire, in numbers.Local help →

Carmarthenshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Carmarthenshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Carmarthenshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 169,725 in 1991 to 190,037 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Carmarthenshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 171,145 people in 1996; 190,037 people in 2025. 11% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Carmarthenshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991169,725
1992169,265
1993169,255
1994169,962
1995171,060
1996171,145
1997171,534
1998172,039
1999172,329
2000172,874
2001173,652
2002174,628
2003176,133
2004177,487
2005178,229
2006179,504
2007181,314
2008182,517
2009182,846
2010183,004
2011183,961
2012184,206
2013184,252
2014184,349
2015184,404
2016184,985
2017184,984
2018185,444
2019186,125
2020187,391
2021188,172
2022189,142
2023190,255
2024190,346
2025190,037
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Carmarthenshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,183 people in 1996; 31,214 people in 2025. 5.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Carmarthenshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199132,784
199232,787
199332,976
199433,180
199533,299
199633,183
199733,220
199833,239
199933,580
200033,580
200133,764
200233,662
200333,761
200433,656
200533,429
200633,261
200733,300
200833,244
200932,990
201032,739
201133,026
201232,912
201332,625
201432,467
201532,498
201632,664
201732,591
201832,799
201932,712
202032,551
202132,287
202232,339
202332,275
202431,765
202531,214
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Carmarthenshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 104,050 people in 1996; 110,098 people in 2025. 5.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Carmarthenshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991103,387
1992102,729
1993102,424
1994102,878
1995103,727
1996104,050
1997104,470
1998104,926
1999105,052
2000105,516
2001106,133
2002106,772
2003107,957
2004109,200
2005109,988
2006111,047
2007112,294
2008112,856
2009112,784
2010112,562
2011112,488
2012111,764
2013111,145
2014110,531
2015110,034
2016109,876
2017109,249
2018109,090
2019109,176
2020109,614
2021110,197
2022110,325
2023110,725
2024110,522
2025110,098
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Carmarthenshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,912 people in 1996; 48,725 people in 2025. 43.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Carmarthenshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,554
199233,749
199333,855
199433,904
199534,034
199633,912
199733,844
199833,874
199933,697
200033,778
200133,755
200234,194
200334,415
200434,631
200534,812
200635,196
200735,720
200836,417
200937,072
201037,703
201138,447
201239,530
201340,482
201441,351
201541,872
201642,445
201743,144
201843,555
201944,237
202045,226
202145,688
202246,478
202347,255
202448,059
202548,725
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 187,898 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Carmarthenshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,3211.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4550.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,7560.9%
White182,65297.2%
Other ethnic group7140.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 183,777 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Carmarthenshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White180,32398.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,0330.6%
Asian/Asian British1,8371%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2790.2%
Other ethnic group3050.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 172,842 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Carmarthenshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White171,21999.1%
Mixed5270.3%
Asian/Asian British5500.3%
Black/Black British1380.1%
Chinese/Other4080.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 19.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Carmarthenshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,994 per person in 1997; £20,814 per person in 2024. 131.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Carmarthenshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,994
19989,139
19999,417
20009,466
20019,937
200210,325
200310,711
200411,159
200511,869
200612,536
200712,780
200813,430
200913,557
201013,723
201114,089
201214,634
201314,832
201415,251
201515,565
201615,621
201715,943
201816,374
201916,899
202017,124
202117,682
202218,366
202319,398
202420,814
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Carmarthenshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -15.2% in 1997; -19.8% in 2024. 4.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Carmarthenshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-15.2
1998-15.6
1999-16.8
2000-20.5
2001-19.7
2002-18.4
2003-17.8
2004-17.8
2005-15.6
2006-14.4
2007-16.7
2008-14.7
2009-15.3
2010-15
2011-13.5
2012-13.4
2013-15.3
2014-15.7
2015-18.2
2016-18.9
2017-19.1
2018-19.8
2019-19.8
2020-18.4
2021-19.1
2022-20
2023-20.7
2024-19.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

52.7%

21 March 2021 · Carmarthenshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

20.6%

21 March 2021 · Carmarthenshire council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20%

21 March 2021 · Carmarthenshire council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.5%

21 March 2021 · Carmarthenshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£199,000

July 2026 · Carmarthenshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£687

August 2026 · Carmarthenshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.